ASEAN Institute for Peace and Reconciliation kicks off in Jakarta

JAKARTA, 10 December 2013 – The ASEAN Institute for Peace and Reconciliation (AIPR) held its first Governing Council (GC) meeting at the ASEAN Secretariat today. The meeting discussed, among others, the Work Plan of the AIPR, the recruitment of Executive Director, funding, and reporting mechanism of the AIPR. 

The AIPR was established under Provision B.2.2.1 of the ASEAN Political-Security Community Blueprint. As a follow-up to the ASEAN Leaders’ Joint Statement on the Establishment of an ASEAN Institute for Peace and Reconciliation adopted on May 8, 2011, the AIPR shall be an entity associated with ASEAN under Article 16 of the ASEAN Charter. 

The current Chairperson of the AIPR is H.E. Ms. Emaleen Abdul Rahman Teo (Brunei Darussalam). Other members of the AIPR include: H.E. Mr. Kan Pharidh (Cambodia), H.E. Mr. Bagas Hasporo (Indonesia), H.E. Mr. Latsamy Keomany (Lao PDR), H.E. Mr. Dato’ Hasnudin Hamzah (Malaysia), H.E. Mr. Min Lwin (Myanmar), H.E. Ms. Elizabeth Buensuceso (the Philippines), H.E. Mr. Tan Hung Seng (Singapore), Dr. Somkiati Ariyapruchya (Thailand), and H.E. Vu Dang Dung (Viet Nam). The ex-officio member of the GC-AIPR is the Secretary-General of ASEAN, who was represented by Deputy Secretary-General Nyan Lynn at the Meeting.